COVID-19 UPDATE - All our teams are safely working from home. Get 24/7 Support. Contact Us.

Here’s All You Need To Know About Quality Assurance Certifications

Customer satisfaction is everything for any organization. To be successful, software app development companies make sure to fulfill their customers’ needs and expectations. The quality management systems of app development companies monitor and analyze their performance. Various quality assurance certification can ensure the work quality of any firm. Customers can learn about the company’s systematic approach to development by knowing which quality assurance certifications it holds. 

Quality Assurance Certification

In this article, before going through the details about the quality assurance certifications, let’s first understand everything about quality assurance. 

What is Quality Assurance?

Quality assurance means a systematic approach to the development that manages the entire development process to deliver working software and prevent future mistakes. It encompasses the procedures and processes that systematically monitor various aspects of service. 

What is the Purpose of Quality Assurance?

After ensuring the level of the consistent quality of any products or services, any business can build a positive reputation for consistency and reliability. This can help the business gain consumer’s trust and confidence and also enables companies to compete with each other.

Quality Approaches

The methods of quality assurance focus on creating processes to produce products with good quality. When it comes to the approach of quality assurance, it differs according to the type of industry. For instance, a hospital might implement the QA method to improve healthcare quality. In contrast, a nutritional supplement manufacturer might implement QA’s methods to assure the quality of its products.

Best Practices for Quality Assurance

  • Creates an environment for robust testing.
  • Selects the release criteria.
  • Apply automated testing that helps fasten the entire process.
  • Allocate time appropriately
  • Prioritize bug fixes that are based on software usage
  • Form performance testing room and dedicate security
  • Simulate customer accounts

Functions of Quality Assurance

  • Transfer the technology
  • Validation of the plan
  • Document distribution
  • Quality assurance of products
  • Quality improvement plans

What is Quality Assurance Certification?

Quality assurance certification can describe the business process improvements. It aims to improve to deliver quality services and products. 

Top 3 Quality Assurance Certification

To ensure that the organizations follow the Standard Quality Process, there are several types of quality assurance certification. This can be used as qualifying criteria by customers while selecting an app development company. Let’s learn more about the quality assurance certifications by going through the details of the top 3 of them. 

Top 3 Quality Assurance Certification

1. ISO 9000

The ISO 9000 is a standard that was established in 1987. It is defined as a set of international standards on quality assurance and quality management. It helps companies effectively document their quality system elements needed to maintain an efficient quality system.

Any organization which prefers to be certified as ISO 9000 is audited based on its services, products, processes, and functions. The primary purpose of this is to review and verify if the organization is following the procedure as required, and it also checks that there is any need for improvement in the existing process or not.

Advantages of ISO 9000

Advantages of ISO 9000

  • Improves International and Domestic Trade
  • Provides Customer Satisfaction
  • Increases Organizational Profit
  • Increases Employees Productivity

2. CMMI Level

Capability Maturity Model Integrated is a process developed for software process improvement. It is entirely based on the process maturity framework, and the business process uses it as a general aid in the software industry.

CMMI is a highly regarded and widely used model in software development companies. There are five different levels in which organizations can be certified from CMMI 1 to 5 based on their Quality Assurance Mechanisms. Let’s understand all these 5 CMMI levels.

CMMI Level
  • Level 1:- CMMI Level 1 is known as the Initial level. It is the stage that checks that the quality environment of the organizations is stable or not.
  • Level 2:- Level 2 of CMMI is known as Repeatable. In this level, some processes are followed, which are repeatable. The Repeatable level ensures that the procedures are followed at the project level.
  • Level 3:- CMMI Level 3 is known as Defined. This level states that the organization has a set of processes that are defined and documented. These processes show some degree of improvement.
  • Level 4:- Level 4 of CMMI is known as Managed. Level 4 uses process metrics and controls different processes that are followed by the organization.
  • Level 5:- The last CMMI Level is known as Optimizing. Level 5 focuses on the continuous improvements of the processes through innovation and learning. 

3. Test Maturity Model Integration

Test Maturity Model Integration (TMMi) is a quality assurance certification that is based on the Capability Maturity Model. TMMi model has five levels. Let’s have a look at them.

TMMi Level
  • Level 1:- The first level of TMMi is known as Initial. At the initial level, there are no process areas identified. The main aim of this is to ensure that the software is working correctly.
  • Level 2:- Level 2 of TMMi is known as Defined. The goal of this level is to develop testing, debugging purposes, and policies.
  • Level 3:- TMMi Level is known as Integration. At this level, the testing is carried out throughout the SDLC (Software Development Lifecycle).  The SDLC is nothing but integration with various development activities.
  • Level 4:- The fourth level of TMMi is known as Management and Measurement. This level reviews the requirements & designs and also sets criteria for each level of testing.
  • Level 5:- Level 5 of TMMi is known as Optimization. At this level, many preventive techniques like automation and testing processes are used. This can improve testing processes and standards.


Quality Assurance checks whether the development project is fit for use or not. For this, app development companies must have standards and processes to be followed. The standards need to be improved periodically. There are different QA certifications like CMMI, TMMi, and ISO, which specifies the quality of the development process and projects that the company provides to its customers.

Nidhi Thakker
Nidhi Thakker

Nidhi Thakker is a technical writer at OpenXcell. Being a techie herself, she enjoys writing about AI/ML, Blockchain, Cryptocurrency, Mobile Apps, and various other technologies. Nidhi chooses written words to express her interest in the upcoming trends.